

28th February, 2019

For Immediate Release

PRESIDENT AKUFO-ADDO APPOINTS REGIONAL MINSTERS AND DEPUTY REGIONAL MINISTERS FOR SIX NEW REGIONS

The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has made the following appointments to the six (6) newly created regions, and ministerial changes to four other existing regions, with immediate effect:

- Mrs. Evelyn Ama Kumi-Richardson, currently Municipal Chief Executive for Sunyani Municipality, is the Minister-designate for Bono Region. Hon. Siaka Stevens, Member of Parliament for Jaman North constituency, is the Deputy Minister-designate for Bono Region;
- Hon. Kofi Amoakohene, Member of Parliament for Atebubu/Amantin constituency, is the Minister-designate for Bono East Region. Hon. Martin Oti Gyarko, Member of Parliament for Techiman North constituency and former Deputy Minister for Brong Ahafo Region, is the Deputy Minister for Bono East Region;
- 3. **Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie**, Member of Parliament for Asunafo North constituency and former Minister for Brong Ahafo Region, is now **Minister for Ahafo Region**. **Hon. Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere**, Member of Parliament for Tano South constituency, is the **Deputy Minister-designate for Ahafo Region**;
- 4. **Hon. Salifu Adam Braimah**, Member of Parliament for Salaga South, is the **Minister-designate for Savannah Region**. **Samuel Yeyu Tika**, former parliamentary candidate for Mankarigu Daboya constituency, is the **Deputy Minister-designate for the Savannah Region**;
- 5. **Hon. Solomon Namliit Boar**, Member of Parliament for Bunkpurugu constituency and former Deputy Minister for Northern Region, is the **Minister-designate for North East Region**. **Tahiru Tia Ahmed**, an educationist from Gambaga, is the **Deputy Minister-designate for North East Region**;



- 6. **Hon. John Benam**, former Member of Parliament for Zabzugu constituency, is the **Deputy Minister-designate for Northern Region**. **Hon. Salifu Saeed** remains the **Minister for Northern Region**;
- 7. Hon. Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu, Member of Parliament for Bibiani/Anhwiaso/Bekwai constituency and former Deputy Minister for Health, is the Minister-designate for Western North Region. Hon. Alex Tetteh, Member of Parliament for Sefwi Akontombra constituency, is the Deputy Minister-designate for Western North Region;
- 8. Hon. Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, Member of Parliament for Takoradi constituency and former Deputy Minister for Aviation, is the Minister-designate for Western Region. Hon. Eugenia Gifty Kusi remains Deputy Minister for Western Region;
- 9. Mr. Johnson Avuletey is the Deputy Minister-designate for Volta Region. Dr. Archibald L etsa remains Minister for Volta Region; and
- 10. Kwasi Owusu Yeboah, Ghana's Ambassador to the Togolese Republic, is the Minister-designate for the Oti Region. Maxwell Blagodzi, the former Deputy Minister for Volta Region, is the Deputy Minister for Oti Region.

The President is hopeful that Parliament will expedite the vetting of the Regional Ministers-designate and Regional deputy Ministers-designate to enable them assume their respective offices promptly, in order to begin and accelerate the establishment of the new regions.

Eugene Arhin

Director of Communications